



For Immediate Release

For more information, contact: Grace Trimble Atlanta Regional Commission 404.463.3192 404.323.5647 (cell)

Seven Communities Renew Commitment to Sustainability

(ATLANTA, January 22, 2014) —The Atlanta Regional Commission (ARC) today recognized seven local governments in the 10-county region for their leadership in implementing policies and practices that contribute to efficient and sustainable use of resources in metro Atlanta. Three counties and four cities either renewed or upgraded their certification in the agency's four-year-old Green Communities program.

Commenting on today's presentation, ARC Chairman Kerry Armstrong said, "The seven local governments the Atlanta Regional Commission recognized today are working hard to use resources wisely and well, and I commend them for their achievements. Their efforts are contributing to cleaner air, reduced water demand, less waste going into landfills and a reduction in energy use. As a result, we have a cleaner, greener region."

The following communities received certification points for their programs and policies to reduce their environmental impact:

- City of Atlanta Recertified, upgraded to Silver
- Cobb County Recertified Silver
- DeKalb County Recertified Bronze
- Douglas County Recertified Bronze
- City of Dunwoody Upgraded to Gold
- City of Roswell Recertified, upgraded to Gold
- City of Suwanee Recertified Bronze

Since 2009, these seven local governments have had the following cumulative impact:

- 159 million kWh of green power produced
- 1062 additional acres of protected greenspace
- 30 community gardens cultivated
- 1,000,222 tons of Household Hazardous Waste collected
- \$1,114,000 in energy savings
- 713 million gallons of water reused

ARC developed the Green Communities Program to foster greater environmental stewardship and to recognize local governments that invest in programs leading to a more sustainable region. The nationally recognized program showcases the ways in which local governments are helping to transform the region by reducing their environmental footprint. Since 2009, 17 jurisdictions in the 10-county region have been certified. Cities and counties earn Green Communities certification by implementing practices and policies in 10 categories, ranging from energy efficiency and green building to transportation and water efficiency. ARC's Green Communities program was the first program in the country seeking to transform a region by promoting sustainability through a "green" certification program for local governments.

Complete information about ARC's Green Communities Certification Program, including the measures each community has implemented, is available on the agency's website at www.atlantaregional.com/greencommunities.

The Atlanta Regional Commission is the official planning agency for the 10-county Atlanta Region, including Cherokee, Clayton, Cobb, DeKalb, Douglas, Fayette, Fulton, Gwinnett, Henry and Rockdale counties as well as the City of Atlanta and 69 other cities. The Atlanta Regional Commission serves as a catalyst for regional progress by focusing leadership, attention and planning resources on key regional issues.

###

Local Government Contacts:

City of Atlanta:

Aaron Bastian, Communications and Project Manager City of Atlanta, Mayor's Office of Sustainability 404.272.3984
abastian@AtlantaGa.Gov

Cobb County:

Robert Quigley, Director of Communications 770-528-2485 rquigley@cobbcounty.org

DeKalb County:

Burke Brennan, Chief Communications Officer 404-371-6305 bbrennan@dekalbcountyga.gov

Douglas County:

Wes Tallon, Director, Douglas County Dept. of Communications and Community Relations 404-405-0401 wtallon@co.douglas.ga.us

City of Dunwoody:

Bob Mullen, Marketing and PR Director 678-382-6700 bob.mullen@dunwoodyga.gov

City of Roswell:

Michael Fischer, Deputy City Administrator 770-594-6271 mfischer@roswellgov.com

City of Suwanee:

Lynne DeWilde, PIO 770-904-3386 ldewilde@suwanee.com

Daniel Robinson, City Planner 770-945-8996 DRobinson@suwanee.com