- Tax Commissioner
- Property Tax
- Delinquent Tax
- Motor Vehicles
- Address Changes
- Commercial, Dealer and Fleet Services
- Disabled Parking Placards/Permits and Plates
- Emissions Requirements
- Motor Vehicle Appeal
- New Residents
- Payment Methods
- Vehicle Registration
- Tag Renewals
- Vehicle Taxes
- Temporary Operating Permits/Plates
- Locations & Hours
- Contact Us
- Annual Report
- Job Opportunities
The DeKalb County Tax Commissioner’s office goal is to provide excellent customer service to all visitors and constituents: citizens and taxpayers, public officials, businesses and governmental entities. We will endeavor to anticipate and meet your needs, while performing our state constitutional duties as required by Georgia law and the rules and regulations of the Georgia Department of Revenue.
This website is designed for your ease of use, and has tools that we hope will assist in answering your basic inquiries and questions. The website is not designed to be exhaustive and may not address all your concerns. Should that occur, please do not hesitate to contact us by email, phone or mail using the information provided on this site. Our phone number is (404) 298-4000 and someone is available between 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday to assist you.
We are proud to serve the citizens of DeKalb County. We welcome your comments and input on how we may better serve you with the resources at our disposal.
Irvin J. Johnson
DeKalb County Tax Commissioner
If you would like a representative of the Tax Commissioner's Office to speak to your community group about property taxes or homestead exemptions, please email our office at email@example.com
Did you know that you can renew your tag even when our office is closed? Not only can you renew your tag online, but now you can renew it in person at the following Kroger locations:
2875 North Decatur Road, Decatur, GA 30033
3559 Chamblee Tucker Road, Atlanta, GA 30341
You can now visit these stores during the stores’ open hours to renew your registration. Currently, both of these stores are open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. These kiosks allow you the flexibility to renew after hours, nights and on weekends.
There is a convenience fee of $3.95 to use the machine, in addition to the other fees and taxes due at the time of renewal. Your renewal notices reflect the total fees due, excluding the convenience fees.
You will receive your decal at the kiosk, and it takes less than two minutes to handle the transaction. You can use a variety of methods to locate vehicle information including, driver’s licenses, tag numbers, and name and address.