

## DeKalb County, Georgia www.dekalbcountyga.gov



## MEDIA CONTACT

Emily Schwarz, Public Information Officer P: 404-371-2809 | M: 404-599-6881

Pauline A. Andrea, Public Information Officer P: 404-294-2092 | M: 404-971-2892

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

April 20, 2015

## DeKalb Hosts Ribbon-Cutting Ceremony for Electric Vehicle Charging Station

Ceremony kicks off public availability of all three County stations

**DECATUR, Ga.** – The DeKalb County Sanitation Division, in partnership with DeKalb County Fleet Maintenance, will host an electric vehicle charging station ribbon-cutting ceremony on **Thursday, April 23, 2015** at **11 a.m.** The event will be held at the **DeKalb County Sanitation Division's Central Transfer Station parking lot, 3720 Leroy Scott, Blvd., Decatur, GA 30032.** 

"Atlanta ranks second in the United States for electric car ownership," said DeKalb County Interim CEO Lee May. "We're proud that DeKalb helps play a leading role to encourage sustainability and reduced emissions with the installation of our three new public electric car-charging stations throughout the County."

Partial funding for the installation of the charging stations is provided through the Georgia Environmental Finance Authority's (GEFA) "Charge Georgia" program, which allows for a 50 percent reimbursement of costs for the installation of electric car charging stations throughout the County. Dedicated alternating current (AC) Level II and direct current quick charging (DCQC) electric vehicle (EV) charging stations and associated parking stations will be available for public use for any battery electric, plug-in hybrid and extended-range vehicles.

Electric vehicle charging stations are currently installed at the County's Administration Building, Fleet Maintenance Building and Sanitation Division's Central Transfer Station.

DeKalb County is Georgia's third largest county, with more than 700,000 residents calling it home. Known for its business and education hub, growing international community and natural wonders, DeKalb County Government is administered by <a href="Interim Chief Executive Officer Lee May">Interim Chief Executive Officer Lee May</a> and legislative policy is set by a seven-member <a href="Board of Commissioners">Board of Commissioners</a>.

Follow news from DeKalb County at <u>@ltsInDeKalb</u> on Twitter and sign up for additional updates at <u>www.onedekalb.com</u> or send a text message with the word ONEDEKALB to 22828 (message and data rates may apply).

###