DeKalb County Government

Manuel J. Maloof Center 1300 Commerce Drive Decatur, Georgia 30030



Sketch Plat Minutes (Draft)

Wednesday, January 25, 2023 6:00 PM

via ZOOM

Planning Commission

Chairperson Tess Snipes
Co-Chair Jon West
Member Deanna Murphy (Dist. 1)
Member April Atkins (Dist. 2)
Member Vivian Moore (Dist. 3)
Member LaSonya Osler (Dist. 4)
Member Jan Costello (Dist. 5)
Member Jana Johnson (Dist. 6)
Member Edward Patton (Dist. 7)



Development Service Center 178 Sams Street Decatur, GA 30030 www.dekalbcountyga.gov/planning 404-371-2155 (o); 404-371-4556 (f)

Chief Executive Officer
Michael Thurmond

DEPARTMENT OF PLANNING & SUSTAINABILITY

Interim Director
Cedric Hudson

JANUARY 25, 2023 – Via Zoom
SKETCH PLAT MINUTES

MEMBERS PRESENT: Tess Snipes, Chair

Jon West, Co-Chair

Jan Costello Jana Johnson LaSonya D. Osler Vivian Moore Edward Patton

MEMBERS ABSENT: Deanna Murphy

April Atkins

STAFF PRESENT: Adam Chappell, Senior Planner

Yasmin L Ayala, Administrative Specialist

Rachel Bragg, Current Planning / Zoning Administrator Larry Washington, Long Range Planning Administrator Brandon White, Current Planning / Zoning Manager

1. Call to Order/Determination of Quorum:

After members presented a quorum, Chair Snipes called the meeting to order @ 6:02 p.m.

2. Reading of Opening Statement:

Chair Snipes read the opening statement of procedure for a sketch plat hearing.

3. Introduction of Planning Commission:

Planning Commission members were introduced.

4. Approval of Minutes:

Vivian Moore made the motion to approve the sketch plat minutes from December 14, 2022; LaSonya Osler seconded the motion. The motion passed were approved 7-0-0.

AGENDA

N.1 Brookglen Townhomes #P-Plat 1246221 3770 Covington Highway 15-219-01-007 Commission District: 3 Super District: 6

Application request by Wesley Browne (WLB Associates, Inc) to subdivide approximately 10.98 acres for a mixed-use development, including up to 60 single-family attached townhomes. The subject property is zoned MU-1 (Mixed-Use Low Density) and has frontage along Covington Highway and Porter Road.

Staff Recommendation: Approval. All regulatory reviews for the preliminary "sketch" plat have been completed, approved, or conditionally approved. The sketch plat meets the requirements of Chapter 14, Article 3 of the Land Development Code and Chapter 27 of the Zoning Ordinance; therefore, DeKalb County Department of Planning and Sustainability recommends "Approval".

MOTION: Vivian Moore moved, Jana Johnson seconded for Approval, per Staff recommendation. The motion

passed 6-0-1; Tess Snipes abstained.

New Business

Planning Commission Chair and Vice Chair Elections.

Jana Johnson moved; Vivian Moore seconded to nominate Tess Snipes to be Chair. The motion passed 7-0-0.

LaSonya D. Osler moved; Jana Johnson seconded to nominate Jon West as Vice Chair. The motion passed 7-0-0.

Meeting was adjourned at 6:21 p.m.

Adam Chappell
Planning

<u>Yasmin L Ayala</u>

Administrative Specialist