
 

Motor Vehicle Appraisal / Appeal Process Summary 
 
 

1. How is a motor vehicle appraised for tax purposes in Georgia? 
 

For most vehicles, the values are set out in a manual prepared by the State Revenue Commissioner.  Property 
Appraisal staff are required to use those values. The values shown in the motor vehicle valuation manual are 
determined using an average of fair market value and wholesale value.  These values are utilized for taxation 
purposes and should not be used in appraising a vehicle for sale or purchase.  The values are determined using 
a variety of market guides available to the public.  
 
When reviewing an appeal of a motor vehicle value, the appraiser will recommend a fair market value in 
accordance with O.C.G.A. 48‐5C‐1.  Except in instances where no value for the vehicle is found in the motor 
vehicle valuation manual, the purchase price of the vehicle does not determine the fair market value for tax 
purposes. 
 
2. What legal authority guides the process? 

 

O.C.G.A. §48‐5C‐1, pursuant to amendments recently signed into law in House Bill 266, provides for the 
following valuation process and definition of “Fair Market Value”: 
 
•    For new motor vehicles:  Use the greater of the retail selling price (or in the case of a lease, the agreed 

upon value) or the value listed in the Department of Revenue assessment manual. The higher number 
that is used should then be reduced by the trade‐in value, as well as reduced by any rebate or cash 
discounts provided by the selling dealer at the time of the sale. Retail selling price (or in the case of a 
lease, the agreed upon value) includes charges for delivery, freight, document fees, and other such fees 
and is meant to mirror the taxable base that was formerly used for sales tax. 
 

•    For used motor vehicles:  No significant change has been made to the law; therefore the Fair Market 
Value is the value listed in the Department of Revenue assessment manual minus trade in for dealer 
sales. If not listed in the assessment manual, the assessor will use the greater of the value from the bill of 
sale or the “clean retail” value from the National Automobile Dealers Association guide, January 1 
edition, minus trade‐in value for dealer sales. 
 

•    Both new and used car dealer sales receive a reduction for trade‐in value. 
 

3. What are the avenues of appeal in case of a disagreement about the value? 

 
a. Board of Equalization 

 
Appealing to the Board of Equalization (BOE) is of no cost to the taxpayer.  Each BOE is a three‐member panel 
made up of DeKalb County property owners.  Each board member has attended at least 40 hours of training in 
property tax laws and appraisal. The BOE is independent from the Board of Assessors and the Property Appraisal 
Department.  
 
If you select this option you will be scheduled for a hearing before the BOE.  At the hearing, the board will listen 
to presentations from the property owner and the county appraiser.   The board will then render an independent 
decision as to the value of the property and notify both parties in writing.  Either party may appeal to Superior 
Court within 30 days of the BOE decision.  Fees are required if you appeal to Superior Court.  
 
b. Affidavit of Illegality 

 

Appealing the value of a vehicle through an “affidavit of illegality” is based on a taxpayer claim that the vehicle 
should not be taxed in Georgia, most likely because it is taxed elsewhere.  It requires a bond in the amount of 



 
the tax plus any penalties and interest and shall be paid to the Tax Commissioner’s office.  The Tax Commissioner 
will forward the case to the Superior Court where it will be tried in front of a jury.   
 
4. Does the law establish particular reasons for appealing your value? 

 

State law says an appeal can be filed for three reasons.  You must state which applies: 
 
•    Value: You believe the state has incorrectly assessed your property. 

 
•    Taxability:  You believe the property in question should not be taxable. 

 
•    Denial of Exemption:  You believe you were denied an exemption you previously applied for. 
 

5. How does one get started?  What are the procedures? 
 

A printable, PDF form is available for appealing your vehicle valuation.  The appeal form is not mandatory.  You 
may also write a letter stating you wish to appeal.   
 
All vehicles in Georgia are valued as of January 1 of each year.  This means if you purchase property June 13, the 
valuation date the state uses is January 1 of that year.  The valuation should consider mileage, condition and 
any other relevant factors.  
 

6. What documents must I include with my appeal of a vehicle value? 
 

Things needed for the ad valorem appeal (AVT)  

 

 Appeal Form (CLICK HERE) or Letter stating your intent 

 Copy of paid Tag Registration from the Tax Commissioner 

 Mileage as of Jan 1 

 Statement of the condition of motor vehicle and photos if possible 
 

7. What if I disagree with the value the state has placed on my vehicle which is the value for the 
Ad Valorem Tax Fee? 

 
Things needed for the title ad valorem tax fee appeal (TAVT)  

 

 Appeal Form (CLICK HERE) or Letter stating your intent 

 Copy of paid Tag Registration from the Tax Commissioner 

 Bill of Sale 

 Mileage as of sale date 

 Statement of the condition of motor vehicle and photos if possible 
 

8. What are the deadlines to be met in these processes? 
 

•     The TAVT deadline is 45 days from the due date of the tax.  This can yield two dates depending on 
where you purchased the vehicle. 

 
•      If you purchased your vehicle after March 1, 2013, you have seven (7) days to register and title your 

property. 
 

•     If you moved to Georgia and need to register your property, you have thirty (30) days from the date 
you moved to title and register your property. 

 
•     The 45 day period starts at either one of these deadlines. 



 
 

•     The AVT has a much simpler deadline for the due date of the tax. Your Registration Renewal Notice 
serves as notice of value and is typically mailed 6 weeks before the tax due date. The tax due date is 
the deadline for the appeal. 

 
•     State law determines deadlines.  They are not flexible at the discretion of the Assessor’s office or Tax 

Commissioner’s Office. 
 

9. How will a motor vehicle be valued when it is appealed? 
 

The appraiser will value the vehicle using the average of the wholesale price (or trade in value) and the retail 
price, then make the appropriate adjustments according to state statutes for mileage, condition, rebuilt title, 
etc.   
 

10. Need additional information? 

 
Contact the Property Appraisal Department at (404) 371-0841. 

 
Contact Personal Property Appraiser Eugene A. Roberts at (404) 371‐2479 or earobert@dekalbcountyga.gov 


