RESOLUTION

A RESOLUTION TO ESTABLISH AN AD-HOC COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS TO STUDY VOTER REGISTRATION AND ELECTIONS POLICIES AND PROCEDURES

WHEREAS, the DeKalb County Board of Commissioners has previously convened a DeKalb Stakeholders Working Group on Elections, and

WHEREAS, the Working Group on Elections was instrumental in identifying and highlighting areas where DeKalb County's voter processes could be strengthened to ensure fair and safe elections throughout the County; and

WHEREAS, Section VI of the Board of Commissioners' Standing Procedural Rules provides for the establishment of committees and selection of committee members through resolution; and

WHEREAS, the DeKalb County Board of Commissioners wishes to establish a new adhoc committee to study both current voter registration and election policies and procedures and identified best practices.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, as follows:

- 1. An ad-hoc committee of the Board of Commissioners is hereby established to study Voter Registration and Elections policies and procedures.
- 2. Name: The official name of this ad-hoc committee will be the DeKalb Community Elections Committee.
- 3. Mission: To provide informed professional and citizen input concerning DeKalb County elections policies and procedures in accordance with applicable law, regulation and budgetary constraints. The Committee will study and report on areas of interest referred to it by citizens and the Department of Voter Registration and Elections. Such areas of interest include but are not limited to: (a) poll worker training; (b) ballot printing, processing, and tallying; (c) voter communication; and (d) technical improvements to operations.
- 4. Membership: The membership of this Committee shall consist of three (3) members of the Board of Commissioners, as follows: District 5 Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, District 6 Commissioner Edward "Ted" Terry, and District 7 Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson. The Commissioners serving on the Committee shall then, by majority vote, select the remaining Committee members, as follows: (a) two (2) members of the Board of Registration and Elections; (b) two (2) members selected from a list provided by the county executive committee of the political

party whose candidate for the office of Governor at the last election for such office received the highest number of votes cast for such office within DeKalb County; (c) two (2) members selected from a list provided by the county executive committee of the political party whose candidate for the office of Governor at the last election for such office received the second highest number of votes cast for such office within DeKalb County; and (d) one (1) member selected from a list provided by the DeKalb Municipal Association.

5. Rules and Committees. The Committee is authorized, but not required to develop procedural rules, and is authorized to create committees to study various issues and make reports to the Committee.

ADOPTED by the DeKalb County B., 2021	oard of Commissioners, thisday of
	STEPHEN R. BRADSHAW Presiding Officer Board of Commissioners DeKalb County, Georgia
APPROVED by the Chief Executive Off, 2021.	icer of DeKalb County, thisday of
	MICHAEL THURMOND Chief Executive Officer DeKalb County, Georgia
ATTEST:	APPROVED AS TO FORM:
BARBARA SANDERS-NORWOOD, CCC Clerk	VIVIANE ERNSTES County Attorney