RESOLUTION

A RESOLUTION TO ESTABLISH AN AD-HOC COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS TO STUDY GREEN POLICIES WITHIN DEKALB COUNTY AND THEIR IMPACT

WHEREAS, the DeKalb County Board of Commissioners has previously convened several ad-hoc committees to address specific issues within the County; and

WHEREAS, Green Polices have been a focus of the County's Planning & Sustainability Department for many years; and

WHEREAS, DeKalb County continues its commitment to social, economic, and environmental sustainability by working with the Atlanta Regional Commission through the Green Communities Program to ensure a greener, healthier and more livable DeKalb County; and

WHEREAS, Section VI of the Board of Commissioners' Standing Procedural Rules provides for the establishment of committees and selection of committee members through resolution; and

WHEREAS, the Board of Commissioners wishes to establish an ad-hoc committee to work collaboratively and cooperatively with various department heads and the sustainability team, as directed by the CEO or COO, to assist in the completion of the County's ARC Green Communities submission prior to Earth Day 2021 and to study both ongoing and new staff-developed sustainability and green policy initiatives.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, as follows:

- 1. Name: The official name of this ad-hoc committee will be DeKalb Green Policy Committee.
- 2. Mission: To provide informed professional input and suggestions, as legally appropriate, to the CEO, COO and staff concerning the County's Green Policies, infrastructure and planning efforts generally and specifically as to (1) the completion of the County's ARC Green Communities submission prior to Earth Day 2021; and (2) the completion of additional goals established herein between the time of the ARC submission and end of 2021;
- 3. Specific Goals: The ad-hoc Committee shall study and provide input and suggestions, as legally appropriate, regarding: (1) ARC Green Communities submissions; (2) Ongoing sustainability/green policy efforts within the County; and (3) Specific initiatives developed by County staff for implementation within the County, including (a) Cherry Street Energy Master Service Agreement, (b) No Net Loss of Trees Policy, (c) Sustainability Policy (Climate Conscious Communities), and (d) DeKalb County Earth Day Proclamation.

- 4. Membership. The ad-hoc committee shall be comprised of four (4) members of the DeKalb County Board of Commissioners, as follows: District 1 Commissioner Robert Patrick, District 5 Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, District 6 Commissioner Edward "Ted" Terry, and District 7 Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson.
- 5. As directed by the CEO or COO, County staff including the DeKalb County Department of Planning and Sustainability staff, DeKalb County Department of Facilities Management staff, DeKalb County Division of Beautification staff, and DeKalb County Chief Operating Officers staff, may be asked to assist the Committees efforts as appropriate.

ADOPTED		County Board of Commissioners, this		day of	
			STEPHEN R. BRADS Presiding Officer Board of Commissioner Georgia		
	D by the Chief Exc, 2021.	ecutive Officer of I	DeKalb County, this	day of	
			MICHAEL THURMO Chief Executive Officer Georgia		
ATTEST:			APPROVED AS TO F	FORM:	
BARBARA Clerk	SANDERS-NOR	WOOD, CCC	VIVIANE ERNSTES County Attorney		