# DeKalb County Board of Registration and Elections Meeting Minutes

June 27, 2022 \*via zoom platform Start Time: 12:00 p.m. End Time: 12:29 p.m.

Board Attendees: Chair Dele Lowman Smith

Vice-Chair Nancy Jester

Anthony Lewis Susan Motter Karli Swift

Other Attendees: Keisha Smith, Executive Director

Terry Phillips, Deputy County Attorney

Shelley Momo, Senior Assistant County Attorney Irene Vander Els, Assistant County Attorney Tristen Waite, Assistant County Attorney

## APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Chair Lowman Smith called the meeting to order at 12:00 p.m. Ms. Austin read the roll by calling each board member by name. All members were in attendance.

## APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Motion by Mr. Lewis and seconded by Ms. Motter to approve the May 27 Special Called Meeting Minutes. The motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Ms. Swift and seconded by Ms. Motter to approve the May 31 Scheduled Meeting Minutes. The motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Ms. Motter and seconded by Mr. Lewis to approve the May 31 Special Called Meeting Minutes. The motion carried unanimously subject to the correction of a typo.

Motion by Ms. Swift and seconded by Ms. Motter to approve the June 3 Special Called Meeting Minutes. The motion carried unanimously subject to the correction of a typo.

Motion by Ms. Motter and seconded by Mr. Lewis to approve the June 10 Special Called Meeting Minutes. The motion carried unanimously.

#### **PUBLIC COMMENTS**

Ms. Austin read the rules for public comment:

Public comments of two minutes or less may be made live via the teleconference. For those joining the meeting by telephone, please be aware that your phone number may be displayed to the public viewing or participating in the online meeting. Citizens who attend the meeting via the Zoom link above may join the public comment queue by raising their hand in the Zoom application, while citizens who attend the meeting

Click here to view BRE meetings: Video On Demand | DeKalb County, GA (dekalbcountyga.gov)

via telephone may join the comment queue by pressing # followed by 2. There will be no comment cards, so when you are called upon, please state your name for the record. Also, please be conscious of speaking time so that everyone has an opportunity to provide input in the allotted time. Abusive, profane, or derogatory language will not be permitted.

The following citizens provided public comment:

- Sonya Collette Frix
- Naomi Bock
- Janet Grant

## **ITEMS FOR DECISION**

# A) Recount Request

Director Smith announced that the Department had received a recount request from candidate Jaqcueline Adams in the 86<sup>th</sup> House District Democratic Primary Runoff.

Motion by Ms. Motter and seconded by Vice-Chair Jester to deny the request.

The Director stated for the record that Ms. Adams had not made any allegations of irregularities in the count.

The motion carried unanimously.

B) Certification of the June 21, 2022 General Primary Runoff

Motion by Ms. Swift and seconded by Vice-Chair Jester to certify the election results.

Director Smith thanked the staff and stated that runoff had been efficient and transparent, with only a few issues that were mitigated as they arose.

The motion carried unanimously.

## ITEMS FOR DISCUSSION

A) Commissioner's Comments

No Commissioners offered comments.

B) Director's Report

Director Smith presented a report summarizing the election.

## **BOARD COMMENTS**

No members offered comments.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

Motion by Vice-Chair Jester and seconded by Ms. Motter to adjourn the meeting. The motion carried by a unanimous vote. The meeting was adjourned at 12:29 p.m.