DeKalb County Board of Registration and Elections Meeting Minutes

June 9, 2025

Start Time: 10:16 a.m. End Time: 10:30 a.m.

Board Attendees: Karli Swift, Chair

Vasu Abhiraman, Vice-Chair

Nancy Jester Susan Motter

Other Attendees: Keisha Smith, Executive Director

Terry Phillips, Deputy County Attorney Michael Petty, Assistant County Attorney

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Chair Swift called the Board of Registration and Elections meeting to order at 10:16 a.m. Ms. Austin read the roll by calling each board member by name. A quorum was met.

Motion by Ms. Jester, seconded by Ms. Motter, to approve the agenda. The motion carried unanimously.

PUBLIC COMMENTS

Ms. Austin read the rules for public comment:

Public comments may be made in person or submitted by sending an email of one printed page or less at a minimum font of 12 to electionspubliccmnt@dekalbcountyga.gov which must be received between 35 and 5 minutes before the scheduled start of the meeting. The body of your email must include your first and last name. By submitting an email for public comment, you agree to have your name and the email broadcast on the UStream and entered into the record and minutes. The DeKalb Board of Registration and Elections reserves the right, at the DeKalb Board of Registration and Elections' sole discretion, to (1) add your email to the record/minutes without reading any of it into the broadcast or (2) read all or a portion of your email into the record/minutes. All public comments will be limited to 2 minutes. Abusive, profane, or derogatory language, holding up signs, clapping, yelling, standing or laying in the aisles to show support for or opposition to a speaker will not be permitted, but a show of hands or quietly standing in place will be permitted to show support for or opposition to a speaker's position.

The following citizens provided public comment:

- Quotisha Lundy
- Ida Davis
- Online Comment- Judy Sophianopoulos

ITEMS FOR DECISION

A) Emergency Polling Place Changes

Chair Swift began by providing context on the necessity of the special called meeting advising that emergency polling place changes were needed due to unfortunate circumstances that recently rendered two polling locations unavailable for the June 17 PSC election.

Director Smith presented the 2 proposed polling location changes. She stated that the first proposed change was due to Henderson Mill Elementary being unavailable and that Midvale Road and Henderson Mill precincts would temporarily combine with the Warren Tech precinct at Warren Technical School.

Ms. Motter elaborated the proposed changes for the public.

Chair Swift clarified that the changes are all related to construction occurring at the schools.

Director Smith presented the second proposed change stating that Toney Elem precinct would temporarily combine with Kelley Lake Elem precinct at Kelley Lake Elementary.

Vice-Chair Abhiraman also expressed his concern for voters that are accustomed to voting at Henderson Mill Elementary.

Ms. Motter confirmed that signage would be placed at the former polling sites to direct voters to the new locations and that letters would be sent to the impacted voters.

Director Smith added that letters to impacted voters were prepared and ready to be mailed out following the Board's vote.

Motion by Ms. Motter, seconded by Vice-Chair Abhiraman to approve the proposed emergency polling place changes for Midvale Road and Henderson Mill from Henderson Mill Elementary to Warren Technical School and Toney Elem from Toney Elementary to Kelley Lake Elementary. The motion passed unanimously.

BOARD COMMENTS

Ms. Motter said she was saving her comments for later.

Ms. Jester thanked the members from the school district for their attendance.

Vice-Chair Abhiraman echoed the comments from Ms. Jester and thanked everyone that was present.

Chair Swift thanked the community that was present and stated that efforts were being made to ensure that every eligible voter can vote and that the office would remain available for anyone that had questions.

ADJOURNMENT

Motion by Ms. Jester, seconded by Vice-Chair Abhiraman, to adjourn. The motion carried unanimously. The meeting was adjourned at 10:30 a.m.