

770.621.7200 (o)Watershed Management770.621.7271 (f)1580 Roadhaven DriveDeKalbCountyga.govStone Mountain, GA 30083

David E. Hayes, Director

Chief Executive Officer Michael Thurmond

June 20 2022

Subject: Emerald Castle Sewer Upsizing Project

Dear Resident/Homeowner,

As part of DeKalb County's \$2.4 billion capital improvement program, the Department of Watershed Management (DWM) will be improving the capacity and service of the Watershed systems serving your community. The **Emerald Castle Sewer Upsizing Project** has been designed to improve the sewer infrastructure in your community.

This letter serves as formal notification that construction activities associated with this project will begin Wednesday, **July6**. Normal construction hours will be from **8 a.m. to 5 p.m.**, **Monday through Friday, excluding major holidays.** Property owners will be notified in advance of significant changes in scheduled work hours.

Please be advised to expect an **increase in construction-related noise and traffic during work hours.** Property owners will be notified **48 to 72 hours** prior to the start of impactful construction activities. Our construction crews will work diligently to minimize the length of impact to residents.

Crews will replace 1500 linear feet of aging sewer lines with new 12" ductile-iron pipes. *The line repair project is expected to last approximately 4 months (June 2022 to November 2022), barring any weather delays.*

RGI, working on behalf of DeKalb County, is the authorized contractor for the **Emerald Castle Sewer Upsizing Project**. All workers will be wearing proper identification and driving marked vehicles.

Should you have any questions or concerns regarding the **Emerald Castle Sewer Upsizing Project**, please do not hesitate to contact the DWM Project Information line at 1-800-986-1108 or email <u>projectinfo@dekalbcountyga.gov</u>.

We appreciate your patience as we work diligently to make improvements to DeKalb County's watershed system.

For more information, please join our virtual community meeting on Tuesday, June 28 at 6:30 p.m.



Commissioners District 1

Board of

Robert Patrick District 2

Jeff Rader

District 3 Larry Johnson

District 4 Stephen Bradshaw

District 5 Mereda Davis Johnson

> District 6 Edward "Ted" Terry

District 7 Lorraine Cochran-Johnson