

Watershed Management 180 Sams Street Decatur, GA 30080

David E. Hayes, Director



July 28, 2022

Subject: North Shore Road Water Main Replacement Project

Dear Resident/Homeowner,

As part of DeKalb County's \$2.4 billion capital improvement program, the Department of Watershed Management (DWM) will be improving the capacity and service of the Watershed systems serving your community. The **North Shore Road Water Main Replacement Project** has been designed to improve the watershed system in your community.

This letter serves as formal notification that construction activities associated with this project will begin Thursday, August 18. Normal construction hours will be from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday, excluding major holidays. Property owners will be notified in advance of significant changes in scheduled work hours.

Please be advised to expect an increase in construction-related noise and traffic during work hours. Property owners will be notified 48 to 72 hours prior to the start of impactful construction activities. Our construction crews will work diligently to minimize the length of impact to residents.

Crews will replace 11,200 linear feet of crumbling water lines with new 8" ductile-iron water lines. The line repair project is expected to last approximately 8 months (August 2022 to December 2022), barring any weather delays.

T&J Industries, working on behalf of DeKalb County, is the authorized contractor for the **North Shore Road Water Main Replacement Project**. All workers will be wearing proper identification and driving marked vehicles.

Should you have any questions or concerns regarding the **North Shore Road Water Main Replacement Project**, please do not hesitate to contact the DWM Project Information line at 1-800-986-1108 or email projectinfo@dekalbcountyga.gov.

We appreciate your patience as we work diligently to make improvements to DeKalb County's watershed system.

For more information, please join our virtual community meeting on Thursday, August 4, 2022 6:30 p.m.



Chief Executive Officer Michael Thurmond

Board of Commissioners

District 1 Robert Patrick

> District 2 Jeff Rader

District 3 Larry Johnson

District 4 Stephen Bradshaw

District 5 Mereda Davis Johnson

District 6 Edward "Ted" Terry

> District 7 Lorraine Cochran-Johnson