Frequently Asked Questions

1.What are the requirements to become a registered voter?


  • Be a citizen of the United States
  • Be a legal resident of Georgia
  • Be at least 17 1/2 years of age (at least 18 years of age to vote)
  • Not be serving a sentence for a conviction of a felony involving moral turpitude
  • Have not been found mentally incompetent by a judge

** Voter Registration Form **


2.Where can I obtain a registration application?
  • Click here, or got to Secretary of State Website
    - www.sos.state.ga.us -

    The form can be completed and mailed to the indicated address. An original signature is required on a voter registration application.
  • DeKalb County Voter Registration and Election Office

        4380 Memorial Drive Suite 300

         Decatur, GA 30032
  • DeKalb County Public Libraries
  • Fire Stations
  • DeKalb County Housing Authority
  • Various Churches & Other Locations
  • (Call 404-298-4020 for a Listing of Nearby Locations)

3. When can I register to vote or make changes to my registration?


You may register to vote the day you become a DeKalb County resident, provided your registration is at least 30 days prior to any Primary or General Election.For a called special election, you may register five days after the election is advertised in the county newspaper.


IF YOU MOVE.

Within DeKalb County, notify us by mail, by FAX 404-298-4038 (include your date of birth and signature) or in person at any registration site in DeKalb County at least 30 days prior to an election.


To DeKalb County from another Georgia county or state, you may register by mail or in person at any registration site in DeKalb County at least 30 days prior to an election. Voter Registration is not transferable. You must complete a new registration form and original signature is required.


IF YOU CHANGE YOUR NAME.

Notify us by mail, by FAX (include your date of birth and signature) or in person at any registration site in DeKalb County at least 30 days prior to an election


** Voter Registration Form **


 


4. How do I update my personal information?

You may do one of the following:


  • Complete a voter registration application form with the new information.
  • Return your precinct card to us with the new information.
  • Simply write us a note indicating the change, i.e. address, name

As long as the change is within DeKalb County, you may either mail or FAX 404-298-4038 the information to us.In all cases, a signature is required.


5. Where do I go to vote?


For information on where to vote on election day, contact the DeKalb County Voter Registration & Elections Office at 404-298-4020 or click here.


6. What type of identification is required to vote?


Any voter who appears in person at the absentee/advance poll, or the poll on Election Day must present one of several forms of identification before being allowed to cast a ballot on the Direct Recording Electronic voting units. The forms that may be presented are:


  • A Georgia driver's license which was properly issued by the appropriate state agency
  • A valid Georgia voter identification card or other valid identification card issued by branch, department, agency, or entity of the State of Georgia, any other state or the United States provided such identification card contains a photograph of the voter
  • A valid United State passport
  • A valid employee identification containing a photograph issued by any branch, department, agency or entity of the United State government, any state, county, municipality, board or authority
  • A valid United State military identification card with a photograph
  • A valid tribal identification card with photograph.

Voters who registered by mail for the first time in Georgia who did not provide identification with the registration application may also use either a copy of a current utility bill, bank statement, government check, paycheck or other government document for one time only.


Voters who do not have proper identification are required to cast a provisional ballot that will only be accepted if the voter provides the required identification to the Voter Registration and Elections office in a timely manner (see section on Provisional Voting).


Voters who cast absentee ballots by mail are not required to provide identification, unless they are a first time voter who registered by mail.


7. What are the requirements to vote by absentee?


BY MAIL:

Any qualified voter may request an absentee ballot by mail without having to provide a reason or identification. In order to be counted, absentee ballots must be returned by mail or delivered by the voter in person and must be received in our office by 7:00 PM on Election Day. For additional information, please call our office at (404) 298-4020.


An absentee ballot application is required for each election. You may request an application form by simply clicking on
** Absentee Application Form ** below or by contacting our office.


If you are physically disabled or 75 years of age or older, the law allows you to submit one application EACH YEAR and receive a ballot for the subsequent General Primary, General and any run-off elections resulted thereof by so indicating on the form. This would not include the Presidential Preference Primary or Special Elections, which would require their own applications.


All applications must be returned by fax to 404-298-4038 or via mail to our office. Absentee ballots must be mailed to the voter's registered address or a temporary address located outside of the county.

IN PERSON:

You may also vote absentee in person for the entire Absentee Period WITHOUT HAVING TO PROVIDE A REASON at our primary location, 4380 Memorial Drive. Identification is always required when voting in person. The Absentee Poll will NOT be open the Monday before an election or on any County designated holidays. (The application below cannot be used for in person voting).

During Advance Voting (The week before each election, Monday - Friday) Satellite locations and extended hours for the General Primary and General Elections will be announced.

** Absentee Application Form ** (for voting by mail only)


8. How does one become registered with a political party in Georgia?

You do not register by political party in the State of Georgia. At each Presidential Preference or General Primary Election, you may choose the primary in which you wish to vote by selecting the party on the Voter's Certificate on the General Primary Election Day. Examples are posted at the poll. A run-off is simply a continuation of the Election. You must vote for the same party in the run-off as you did in the Primary


If you fail to vote in the General Primary, you are still eligible to vote in either party's Run-off Election and the General Election.


9. Can you vote in a different Primary Runoff than you did in the General Primary?


No, a run-off is simply a continuation of the Election. You must vote for the same party in the run-off as you did in the Primary


If you fail to vote in the General Primary, you are still eligible to vote in either party's Run-off Election and the General Election.