Open Records Request

DeKalb County considers access to public records of paramount importance.  After the county receives a request for public records, the department which the request is addressed has three (3) business days to determine whether records are in that department’s custody and whether the records are subject to disclosure under the Georgia Open Records Act as amended in 2012 (O.C.G.A 50-18-70-75 et al).  A response must be made within three business days to the individual who requested the records, even if the records will take longer than that to produce. Residents who request records but there are no responsive documents that exist should get a response stating such within three business days.

Unless the requested records are exempt from production requirements of the ORA, inspection or copying of the requested records must be permitted.

In most cases, the custodian of records is the director or a deputy director of the department in which the records are kept.  The Chief Executive Officer and the Board of Commissioners are not the custodians of all county public records.  Rather, an elected official is the custodian of only those county public records prepared or maintained in that official’s office.  All county public records should be sought from the appropriate custodian. 

The Georgia Open Records Act does not require the creation of records, reports, summaries or compilations not already in existence at the time of the request.

If the estimated cost to respond is over $25, the department must notify the requestor of the estimated amount within three business days of receiving the request, but is not required to begin retrieving documents until the requestor agrees to pay the estimated cost.  If the estimated cost is over $500, the department will not begin retrieving documents until the requestor pays the estimated costs.  A department can charge no more than 10 cents per page for copies of letter/legal size documents, and actual cost for copies of other- sized documents.  The labor rate for search, retrieval, redaction, and production will be the hourly rate of the lowest-paid employee who is qualified to fulfill the request.  There will be no charge for the first 15 minutes an employee works on a request. 

 

To submit an Open Records Request, please email the department listed below. 

Animal Services Budget CEO's Office
Xan Rawls Jay Vinicki Andrew Cauthen
bxrawls@dekalbcountyga.gov jjvinicki@dekalbcountyga.gov acauthen@dekalbcountyga.gov
(404) 294-3080 (404) 371-2754 (404) 371-2806

 

Child Advocacy Code Enforcement Communicaitons
Tereshia Huffman Tonza Clark Andrew Cauthen
thuffman@dekalbcountyga.gov tonzaclark@dekalbcountyga.gov acauthen@dekalbcountyga.gov
(404) 294-2335 (404) 371-6379 (404) 371- 2806

 

COO's Office  DCTV DeKalb Emergency Management
Zach Williams Diamond Lewis Sue Loeffler
zlwilliams@dekalbcountyga.gov dmlewis@dekalbcountyga.gov svloeffl@dekalbcountyga.gov
(404) 371-2174 (404) 371-2083 (678) 406-7748

 

E-911  Facilities Management Finance
Myesha Brown Clyde Stovall Dianne McNabb
mdbrown@dekalbcountyga.gov cstovall@dekalbcountyga.gov dmcnabb@dekalbcountyga.gov
(678)-406-7833 (404) 576-0210 (404) 371-2745

 

Fire Department Fleet Maintenance GIS
Addie Hention Robert Gordon Stacy Grear
alhention@dekalbcountyga.gov rlgordon1@dekalbcountyga.gov scgrear@dekalbcountyga.gov
(678) 406-7755 (404) 297-3280 (404) 371-2812

 

Human Resources Human Services Innovation and Technology
Catrina Rives Damon Scott John Matelski
carives@dekalbcountyga.gov dmscott@dekalbcountyga.gov jmatelski@dekalbcountyga.gov
(404) 687-3494 (404) 687-2385 (404) 371-6210

 

Keep DeKalb Beautiful Library Medical Examiner
Gordon Burkette Allison Weissinger Mark Anglin
gaburkette@dekalbcountyga.gov weissingera@dekalblibrary.org Maanglin@dekalbcountyga.gov
(404) 294-3072 (404) 508-7190 ext 2227 (404) 508-3527

 

Peachtree DeKalb Airport Planning & Sustainablity Planning and Sustainability- Planning
Mario Evans Odessa Ngoto Jeanette Rowden
maevans@dekalbcountyga.gov omngoto@dekalbcountyga.gov jrowden@dekalbcountyga.gov
(770) 936-5440 (404) 371-2179 (404) 371-2158

 

Planning and Sustainability-Permits Planning and Sustainability-
Business License
Police Services
Cheryl Bagby Yetunde Komolafe Open Records Unit
cbagby@dekalbcountyga.gov yykomolafe@dekalbcountyga.gov DKPDOpenRecords@dekalbcountyga.gov
(404) 371-3067 (404) 371-2784 Phone: (770) 724-7474  |  Fax: 770-724-7814

 

Purchasing & Contracting Property Appraisal Recreation, Parks & Cultural Affairs
Christa Malone Calvin C. Hicks Marvin Billups
pcadmin-ops@dekalbcountyga.gov cchicks@dekalbcountyga.gov MFBillup@dekalbcountyga.go​v
  (404) 371-2468 (404) 371-4925

 

Roads and Drainage Sanitation Transportation
Peggy Allen Pauline Andrea David Pelton
pvallen@dekalbcountyga.gov paandrea@dekalbcountyga.gov dwpelton@dekalbcountyga.gov
(404) 294-2878 (404) 971-2892 (770) 492-5223

 

Voter Registration Watershed Management  
Erica Hamilton Patricia Moore  
ehamilton@dekalbcountyga.gov WatershedORR@dekalbcountyga.gov  
(404) 298-4020 (770) 414-6182