Fire Marshal's Office

  Larry Labbe - Fire Marshal

The Fire Marshal's Office is charged with enforcing "Rules and Regulations for the State Minimum Fire Safety Standards" as adopted by the State Fire Commissioner. The Fire Marshal is the authority having jurisdiction in these matters for all of unincorporated DeKalb County and for the cities of Avondale Estates, Brookhaven, Chamblee, Clarkston, Doraville, Dunwoody, Lithonia, Pine Lake, Stone Mountain, Stonecrest, and Tucker.

The Fire Marshal's Office has the responsibility to conduct fire and life safety inspections of existing buildings and structures, review plans and specifications for proposed buildings and structures, maintain records, and respond to customer questions and concerns relating to fire hazards.


DeKalb County requires that plans and specifications be reviewed by plan reviewers prior to approval of building or installation permits. This ensures public safety by establishing compliance with local ordinances, including the local fire code. DeKalb County Fire Rescue highly encourages all fire plans be submitted electronically to expedite the plan review process. Click here for information about how to submit plans electronically in DeKalb County.  

Once plans are received by the DeKalb County Fire Marshals Office they are typically reviewed within 10 business days. Projects located in DeKalb County municipalities should contact that municipality to arrange for the pickup of your plans after the DeKalb County Fire Marshals Office has completed their review as each municipality has its own process.

For more information about services provided by the DeKalb County Fire Rescue Fire Marshals Office contact our office via email at


Routing for fire plans review:

  • Projects located in Unincorporated DeKalb County must submit plans directly to DeKalb County Planning and Sustainability
  • Projects located in a municipality in DeKalb County must submit plans to the municipality which will then provide a city routing sheet and then the applicant can submit to DeKalb County Planning and Sustainability

Applicable Codes within DeKalb County

  • 2018 IBC with Georgia amendments
  • 2018 IFC with Georgia amendments
  • 2018 NFPA 101
  • 2018 IMC with Georgia amendments
  • 2017 National Electrical Code
  • Chapter 120-3-3 Rules and Regulations for the State Minimum Fire Safety Standards
  • Chapter 120-3-20 Georgia Accessibility Code
  • Chapter 120-3-11 Georgia Rules and Regulations NFPA 30 and 30A
  • 2019 NFPA 13
  • 2019 NFPA 13R
  • 2019 NFPA 72
  • For DeKalb County Fire Prevention Codes see DeKalb County Municode Chapter 12
  • For all other fire code standards see State of Georgia Fire Marshals Office


Forms or links for use when processing plans or permits with the DeKalb County Fire Marshals Office

The following forms or links are under review and unavailable for download or access at this time.

  • Fire Watch Requirements
  • Fire Watch Log
  • Submit Commercial Knox Box Applications Here
  • Submit Residential Knox Box Applications Here
  • Site Plan Review Submittal Requirements
  • General Fire Marshal Plan Review Requirements
  • Tents, Canopies, and other Membrane Structure Plans Submittal Guideline
  • Day Care Plan Submittal Requirements
  • Personal Care Home Plan Submittal Requirements
  • Commercial Kitchen Hood Suppression System Submittal Requirements
  • Commercial and Warehouse Storage Requirements
  • NFPA 13 Automatic Sprinkler Review Requirements
  • NFPA 72 Fire Alarm Review Requirements (2013)