Central Records

Central Records
DeKalb County Police Department Central Records
1960 W. Exchange Place
2nd Floor Room 210
Tucker, GA 30084
(770) 724-7740

Hours of Operation:
Monday – Thursday, 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Friday, Saturday and Sunday – Closed

Incident Reports ($.25 per page)
Accident Reports ($5)
Background Checks ($20)
* Checks will not be accepted for this service

Expungment of Records ($25)
Inspection of Records ($3)

Central Records is comprised of three (3) major components: Public Records, Criminal Records and Georgia Crime Information Center (GCIC)/ National Crime Information Center (NCIC).

REPORTS (Accident/Incident):
Reports are usually available five (5) days after the incident has been uploaded.

Background checks are made for the following reasons:
* Employment
* Housing
* Adoption
* Visa
* Immigration
This process takes place while you wait.

Under Georgia code O.C.G.A. 35-3-37 provides for the expungement of certain local criminal records where the charges were dropped without referral to the prosecuting attorney or dismissed prior to the filing of an indictment or accusation, provided certain criteria are met.

Individuals seeking to have records meeting the criteria expunged from local records must first request the original agency (arresting agency) in writing to expunge the record using the form prescribed by the Georgia Crime Information Center (GCIC) (Applications are located in the Criminal History area). The application is completed and submitted to Criminal History. The application is then processed and turned over to the prosecuting attorney (Solicitor or District Attorney) who determines if the records meet the criteria set forth in the law. If the prosecuting attorney determines all of the criteria have been satisfied, the individual has the right to have the record expunged.  The process takes anywhere from six (6) to nine (9) months to complete. Once the process is completed the individual will be contacted via certified mail.

Both background and expungement services require a current and valid photo ID.  If the individual needs to be fingerprinted he/she will be instructed to complete the appropriate form and directed to the Pistol & Permits section.