Right From The Start Medicaid

Right from the Start Medicaid pays for medical care required by pregnant women for up to 60 days after they give birth, and for the delivery and medical care required by their children. Services covered include peri-natal case management, postpartum home visits, and substance abuse day treatment for pregnant women. The program uses 200 percent of the federal poverty level as the ceiling for eligibility for pregnant women and infants up to age 1. This makes Georgia's Medicaid benefits available too many more women that are pregnant and children.

Program Features:

  • Married as well as single women may qualify.
  • Owning a car or home does not affect eligibility.
  • The Medicaid application form and the application process have been simplified.
  • Physician reimbursement for pre-natal care and delivery was increased from $1,000 to $1,205. Physicians are paid an additional $100 if they begin pre-natal care in the first trimester of the mother's pregnancy.
  • Pregnant women may get coverage while waiting for their eligibility to be decided. Some hospitals, health departments and community health centers will issue temporary Medicaid cards to eligible women when they apply.
  • Children up to age 19 are eligible (income level varies with age).
  • The Indigent Health Care Trust Fund pays for outreach staff so that clients can enroll at more convenient and non-traditional locations and times.


  • More physicians are encouraged to take Medicaid patients.
  • Medicaid applications are processed more quickly so more eligible women will enter pre-natal care earlier in their pregnancy.
  • More children will receive checkups and preventive care. Those needing medical treatment will receive it earlier, before their conditions become severe.


  • A pregnant woman and child under age 1 qualifies if the monthly income does not exceed 200 percent of the federal poverty level.
  • Income levels for children vary with the age of the child.
  • Must be a U.S. citizen or qualified alien.
  • Must be a resident of Georgia.